Lowepro Fastpack 250 Product Review.

aw1_0587

Right after PMA Lowepro (http://lowepro.com) found me via twitter (http://twitter.com/aweber2) that I was looking for some new camera bags. At PMA they introduced the Pro Roller X-Series (http://www.lowepro.com/prorollerx) and they wanted to know if I wanted to test one out. I quickly jumped on the opportunity because it can lead to even more success for me in the future.

The Pro Roller x-Series won’t be in my hands until mid April so they asked if I wanted to try anything else out. I have been looking for a good backpack to carry all of my gear and my 15” MacBook Pro. So I decided to try the Lowepro Fastpack 250 (http://products.lowepro.com/product/Fastpack-250,2086,14.htm)

I have been using the back for about a week now and I am extremely happy with this bag so far. For me the backpack has to be able to hold a laptop and 2 lenses and accessories.

Here are some general views of the bag.

Front
aw1_0554
Side
aw1_0555
Back
aw1_0556
With the bottom compartment unzipped
aw1_0553

For being able to hold a large amount of gear its a pretty slim and that is key for me because I am on the go so much and I can’t have a large bag holding me back.

Lets go ahead and start with the bottom portion of the bag where the lens and camera would be stored.

aw1_0559

aw1_0560

Those compartments are velcroed in and can be arranged any way you want to hold your gear. I am not using this bag to hold a camera body with lens attached like Lowepro advertises it. It just holds a few extra lens, pocket wizards, cables and anything else I need. It’s just a much simpler solution instead the belt system which I hate and look like a dork wearing.

aw1_0564

I just got done cover a college basketball game and this is what I had in the bag while at the game. A Nikon 14-24, Sigma 10mm fish eye, 2 Pocket Wizards, 1.4x converter and a 77mm star filter.

aw1_0565

Then I was also able to squeeze my 70-200 in there.

aw1_0567

There is a front zipper pouch where I keep all of my credentials and my white balance card for easy access.

aw1_0571

Then there is a top portion of the bag were you can keep pens, pencils and other personal good.
aw1_0576

I keep my laptop charger, compact flash cards, AA batteries, card reader, lens cap and paper and pens. I have also been able to fit rosters and rain gear in there too.

Then on the back compartment there is a spot that holds up to a 17” laptop.

aw1_0586
aw1_05871

I haven’t worn the backpack for longer then 30 minutes with my laptop in there but for the most part its pretty comfortable.

Here is all of my gear I am able to fit in the bag, I could also fit another lens and 2 flashes in there if I needed.

aw1_0590

aw1_0593

Overall this is a great bag for any photographer, Amateur or Professional. It offers a lot of storage in a safe and durable bag. It doesn’t get to heavy when loaded with your equipment.

I am also going to include the tech specs of the bag.

Capacity:

1 digital SLR with a mid-range zoom lens attached plus 2-3 additional lenses or flash units (up to a 70-300 f/4.5, 15.4″ widescreen notebook, memory cards, batteries and cables
Size(Interior):
11W X 5.9D X 9.3H in./
28 X 15 X 23.5 cm    Size(Exterior):
12.4W X 9.4D X 18.1H in./
31.5 X 24 X 46 cm
Weight:
3.62lbs/1.64kg

4 responses to “Lowepro Fastpack 250 Product Review.

  1. You don’t put your camera in the “camera bag?”

  2. No, the bag is more for carrying extra stuff. I carry my cameras on my shoulder all the time.

    Andrew

  3. I have the LowePro Slingshot 100. How does this bag compare in terms of easy access to the lenses? You would have to place it on the ground to put in/take out the gear, right?

  4. Pingback: Lowepro Fastpack 250 - Business Travel Gear - Travel Gear Blog

Leave a Reply

