TKO in the 9th round!

aw1_3337
Sorry for the lack of posts lately. I have been so busy it’s not even funny. Between School, Football, and Work I barely have any free time. But this past weekend I made sure I cleared my schedule for an awesome opportunity to shooting Boxing in Youngstown, Ohio.

I will get this out of the way first. I know nothing about boxing besides to guys trying to beat this shit out of each other wearing boxing gloves. I spent most of the week watch clips on youtube of Kelly Pavlik to see if I could figure out his moves and how he throws his punches but it didn’t help.
So Saturday morning I packed up all of my gear picked up a friend who was from Youngstown who wanted to go home for the. Its about a 2 ½ hour drive but it turned out to be 3 hours due to the semi trucks making the wet roads impossible for small cars like mine to see anything less then two feet in from of me.
I got my credentials drag all of my gear to the top of the arena to see if I could set up my remote.
aw2_0816

But when I got up there I realized the ring wasn’t centered in the arena making it impossible for me to do an overhead remote.

There were six rounds of total boxing so I sat a watched the first couple guys fight to get the hang out it. Then I got work.

aw1_2475

I like the fact the guy is trying to bite him!

aw1_2510

Poor white guy! Blood all over him!
aw1_2589

The blood must have gotten in his eye because he almost fell out of the ring.

aw2_0992

aw1_2690

Then a local Toledo guy was going to fight named Dallas Jarvas. His brother Devon qualified for the Olympics a couple years ago.

aw1_2717

His opponent got knocked for and never got up.

aw2_1159

Then Dallas celebrated after defeating his opponent.

aw2_1180

Next up was the Main Event. Kelly “The Ghost” Pavlik vs. Marco Rubio. The reason this fight was so big is because Kelly Pavlik is from Youngstown and he runs Youngstown my friend says.

About ten minutes before the fight was suppose to start a bunch of Athletes were there.

A.J. Hawk
aw2_1197

Troy Smith
aw2_1224

Brady Quinn
aw2_1235

There were a lot of fans holding signs.
aw1_2774

When he came into the ring he got a huge standing ovation.
aw1_2812

aw1_33371

aw1_3346

aw1_3402a

aw1_3765

aw1_3944

aw2_1394
aw2_1515

Here is the belt he wins.
aw2_2050

Rubio gave up in the 9th round for a TKO.

Kelly Pavlik won and the arena went crazy.

aw2_2054

He then came right over to my corner and did prayed.

aw2_2063

He posed for the photographers with his belt.

aw2_2128

aw2_2167

I then hustled back to the media room to packed up all of my gear and head to the car to beat all of the traffic and I was back on the road for a 3 hour drive home. Next up will be the opening round of the NCAA Tournament in Dayton.

I also had to include these photo of me looking like a fool ring side.
md_129090221038_rubio_vs_pavlik

One response to “TKO in the 9th round!

  1. Hey! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My site looks weird when viewing from my apple iphone. I’m trying
    to find a template or plugin that might be able to fix this issue.
    If you have any recommendations, please share.
    With thanks!

Leave a Reply

