Lebron James and Cavs 16-0 at home.

 

2810162_heat_v_cavs

Being only 2 hours away from Cleveland I never have been to a Cleveland Cavaliers game. So I was watching Sports Center and I saw that the Cavs are about  to be the first team in 12 years to be 16-0 at home since the Orlando Magic. So I quickly looked up their schedule to see when their next home game was against a big time team. Miami Heat was the perfect opportunity for two reasons get images of Lebron James and Dwayne Wade. 

So Sunday I packed up all of my gear jumped on the turnpike and prepared my self for the boring two hour drive! 

I finally got to Quicken Loans Arena at 5:30 two hours before tipoff. My original plan was to do an overhead remote but when I asked about doing a remote from the cat walk they told me I had to be there 4 hours before the game, so I settled with doing a remote just clamped to the back of the backboard. 

aw1_62321

After I set up the remote I went and had an awesome all you can eat media meal for $5! 

I quickly finished grabbed all of my gear and headed to the floor to start working on shooting feature photos of Lebron.  

I like this one because he was dancing to some crazy rap song. 

2810170_heat_v_cavs

And I had to get a photo of Lebron’s new shoe he just released. 

2810084_heat_v_cavs

Next on my list was to get a picture of Lebron’s pre game ritual of throwing rosin into the air. While I was in the media room I looked a AP and Getty website to see what they had gotten and surprisingly nothing to amazing.  

picture-12

I wanted to be behind the scorers table when he did it so, about 5 minutes before tipoff I walked behind the scores table.

I made sure I got a detailed photo of him pouring the rosin into his hands. 

2810174_heat_v_cavs1

28101761_heat_v_cavs1

I quickly got back to my seat on the court to get to work. 

Just about 10 minutes into the game Lebron had a steal and was headed to the hoop and I was hoping for a monster dunk but just went up for a reverse layup, got fouled by Dwayne Wade and still made the shot. 

Here is my handled version of the picture. 

2810088_heat_v_cavs

Remote

2810062_heat_v_cavs1

Then not much longer after that play Anderson Varejao  went in for this dunk. 

Handled:

2810105_heat_v_cavs

Remote:

2810070_heat_v_cavs2

The game went on with a back and fourth battle between Lebron and D Wade scoring points. 

Next are a few of my favorite shots from the game. 

2810094_heat_v_cavs

2810114_heat_v_cavs

2810119_heat_v_cavs

2810135_heat_v_cavs

2810137_heat_v_cavs

2810141_heat_v_cavs

2810159_heat_v_cavs1

 

Then the Cavs started pulling away and know that Cleveland is about to be the first team to be 16-0 in the 12 years there is going to be some good jube shots. 

2810162_heat_v_cavs1

I made it a point to get a picture of Lebron and D Wade shaking hands at the end of the game. 

2810166_heat_v_cavs

Then I was waiting until Lebron got done with his interview with TV crew and I noticed him bending over and untying  his shoes and before I knew it he was threw them into the stands and he thew them pretty hard. I am sure those will be on ebay pretty soon. 

2810167_heat_v_cavs

That wraps up me shooting the Cleveland Cavs game. Its time to go back to shooting high school and college basketball. 

2 responses to “Lebron James and Cavs 16-0 at home.

  1. Nice shots Andrew. What mounting plate did you use for your remote camera? I’ve been looking for something similar (magic arm mount, quick release plate).

  2. Hi Joel-

    I used a magic arm quick release plate with a super clamp on the other side.

Leave a Reply

