First Snow Fall and College Hockey.

ajw_50391

I started off the day by sleeping in to around noon. I hate a late breakfast did some work on some school work then I started to get ready to head 15 miles down to Bowling Green to shoot Bowling Green Falcon Hockey vs. Northern Michigan. As I got all of my gear packed up and headed out to my car I had no idea it snowed. Here is a little fun pic of me. 

n1427430102_30251900_7355

I finally brushed off all of the snow then head down to Bowling Green. I got there about 40 minutes prior to the game because this year they are forcing the media to park with the rest of the fans and its a complete hassle to haul all of my gear from my car to the media entrance.  I got inside ate some free pizza and then went right to work. I have never seen any shots of the players area so I went in there to shoot some stuff and this is what i came up with. 

ajw_4991

ajw_4984

Then I  asked the people who are incharge of the ice maintenance if it would be cool if I went out on to the ice to shoot some feature stuff and they said it would be completely fine. I couldn’t get to fancy because I didn’t feel like making a complete idiot of my self infront of he huge crowd on the ice. I did slow shutter speed and did some panning of the players getting introduced. I am going to try to go a little slower next time to see if I could get rid of the lights at the top a little more. 

ajw_5039

Then the game was getting ready to start so I had to lightly slide off the ice and head to my shooting position. 

ajw_4288

Then I was looking around and I see some people in the stand dressed as a rabbit and chicken (not the mascots) so I hussled to the other side of the rink to get some shots with them and the crowd. 

ajw_5182

They started fighting then they were cheering on the team! 

ajw_5188

And if you look carefully you will see a Bill Cliton mask behind the chicken! Gotta love college hockey because you have no idea what you will see. 

Back to the action. 

ajw_4387

ajw_4699

Then I noticed the goalie was always spitting water so I was trying to get some pics of that and it was an ok shot nothing great but better then nothing. 

ajw_4547

Then I started working on shooting stock images of the players for later use. I transmitted some images on deadline and headed home for the evening. It was pretty uneventful night, I can’t wait for basketball season to start!

Leave a Reply

